A simple decision that helped me save €277/US $329 a year

Had I made that decision a long time ago, I would probably be living a different life right now. Short hair lovers, say goodbye to your favorite hairdresser.

Depending on the country in which you live, getting a haircut can be quite expensive for a student on a budget, and their discounts are often not high enough to make us feel better. It was the case for me. Spending €25 one to two times a month was simply a big no. That’s why I decided to take the matter into my own hands and make one of the best decisions I’ve ever made up until now: cut my own hair.

Unfortunately, this is not a decision people who want some fancy haircut can make. However, if you usually ask for a short haircut–or if you just want to trim your hair a little–then keep reading, because I will tell you how this simple decision can turn into a gold mine.

Okay so, after being outraged by the ridiculous price of a haircut (and having to listen to the hairdresser complaining about his life) that I had to pay monthly, I looked at my empty wallet. I can’t continue like this, I thought.

And it made me think. I usually ask for a short haircut. It doesn’t require much, just a hair clipper, a comb and a small mirror to see the back of my head. The whole set cost me €23 (less expensive than a haircut).

Let me tell you, I had no previous experience in cutting hair; I was afraid of cutting my own hair the first time because I didn’t want to end up with a horrible haircut (which is the reason why many people prefer to go to the hairdresser).

However, I decided to throw away my fear. The fear of ending up with no money was stronger than my fear of looking ridiculous. Luckily, many hair clippers come with a notice in which they tell you how to shave your hair.

I followed the instructions and shaved my hair to the desired length. It took quite some time the first time, because I would trim my hair small bits by small bits. The result was better than I expected. No one said anything about my haircut. I was satisfied.

The second time, I was more confident and cut my hair a little faster. And so on.

I admit there were times where I made mistakes and had to correct them by cutting my hair a bit shorter, but it didn’t stop me from cutting my own hair. One year has passed, and I now no longer fear cutting my hair. I have gained experienced and cut my hair from time to time when I feel like they are too long.

More importantly, I don’t have to listen to anyone complaining anymore, I don’t have to take an appointment and wait for who knows how long on a chair while listening to the same music over and over again. My time is not wasted and I get a free haircut with no bad surprises. What else can I ask for?

But more importantly, I saved money. With just €23, I can now save €25 per month and €277 (=US $329) per year. It may seem like nothing for some, but it is a lot. With that amount of money, you can do a lot of things.

You don’t necessarily have to spend that money on leisure and personal pleasure, you can instead use it to earn more money. The choice is yours.

So if you want to save a few bucks per month, stop wasting your money and your time at a barber shop and cut your own hair. You will save time, money, and you’ll get a new skill as a bonus!

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

